Supporting Black Communities and Educators

You’ve had to be living under a GD rock to have missed the happenings and events of the past week and a bit. Following the horrifically tragic death of George Floyd, there has been a mass uprising and, between the protests, riots and universal uproar, it has been the biggest civil rights movement. Ever. It has hit home for a lot of white people, and shaken them up in urge that they start acknowledging our white privilege and educate ourselves about racism and how to show up and better ourselves to stand in solidarity with black people everywhere.

If you’re honestly clueless about the whole thing, please get your ass on social media. I personally have created a ‘highlight’ reel on my Instagram detailing posts and pages I found to be informative. Please do remember, though – white people, this is your burden to bear. Black educators have enough going on without you questioning them and seeking approval. Do your own damn work. As part of my ongoing education, I have made it a priority to start buying from black owned businesses. This goes alongside reading, researching, watching and donating and, to be honest, I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to be a part of this journey with me. And, so, I have compiled the below list. I will be adding and altering as time goes on, but please see my current list of resources below

SIKA clothing

SHOPPING

CQ Illustrations – Artist – @cq.illustrations

Modestique Designs – Dress designer – https://modestiquedesigns.com/

HarperIman Dolls – Handmade dolls – https://www.harperiman.com/

SIKA – Clothing designer – https://www.sikadesigns.co.uk/

The Kemist – Clothing designer – https://thekemist.com/

Zoe’s Ghana Kitchen – Catering & supperclubs – @ghanakitchen

Original Flava – Cookbook – https://originalflava.com/

LIHA – Beauty products – https://lihabeauty.com/

Daughter of a Bohemian – Upcycled fashion and art – https://www.daughterofabohemian.com/

Campaign Zero

DONATING

Black Lives Matter

Black Visions Collective

Reclaim The Block

Campaign Zero

Unicorn Riot

The Loveland Foundation

The Great Unlearn

Reni Eddo-Lodge

READING

Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge

Me and White Supremacy by Layla F Saad

Black and British: A Forgotten History by David Olusoga

White Fragility by Robin Diangelo

Freedom is a Constant Struggle by Angela Davis

Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde

Hood Feminism by Mikki Kendall

When They See Us

WATCHING

13th on Netflix

When They See Us on Netflix

I Am Not Your Negro on Amazon Prime

Selma on Amazon Prime

The Black Power Mixtape 1967 – 1975 on Amazon Prime

The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution on Amazon Prime

If Beale Street Could Talk on Amazon Prime

Explained: The Racial Wealth Gap on Netflix

Time: The Kalief Browder Story on Netflix

Who Killed Malcom X? on Netflix

Rachel Cargle

FOLLOWING

Rachel Cargle on Instagram – @rachel.cargle

Sassy Late on Instagram – @sassy_latte

Mona Chalabi on Instagram – @monachalabi

Munroe Bergdorf on Instagram – @munroebergdorf

Candice Braithwaite on Instagram – @candicebraithwaite

Char Ellesse on Instagram – @ellessechar

Chidera Eggerue on Instagram – @theslumflower

No White Saviors on Instagram – @nowhitesaviors

Check Your Priviledge on Instagram – @ckyourprivilege

Rachel Ricketts on Instagram – @iamrachelricketts

Ibram X. Kendi on Instagram – @ibramxk

Black Lives Matter on Instagram – @blklivesmatter

As always, please let me know if you’re aware of anything to add to the list and I shall continue to do so. Please, please – white people – shut up, listen and learn.

Sending love and solidarity to ALL, unless you’re a racist and then you can go and fuck yourself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *